Meet the cast…Judas

 

Good Morning everyone we are back with another cast member blog, this week we introduce our cast member Dale Vaughan who takes on the role of  Judas in Jesus Christ Superstar.

Tickets are still available here so book now to avoid disappointment!

“Listen Jesus to the warning I give, Please remember that I want us to live” Judas – JCS

Name: Dale Vaughan

Judas
Dale Vaughan as Judas (PHOTO COURTESY OF Nicole Walton Photography )

Character Name:  Judas Iscariot

Tell us a bit about your character: We see the show through Judas’ point of view and all the questioning of Jesus as a human being or the son of God comes out throughout the show.  Judas is torn between following Jesus as his right-hand man and being worried about this ‘son of God’ claim.  Judas sees from the start that claiming to be the son of God will upset the Priests and he doesn’t think it helps with the actual cause.  ‘Heaven on their Minds’ distils Judas’ thinking perfectly into one song.
What’s your favourite song in the show and why?  The Last Supper.  Not only do I get to sing/argue but the apostles sound fab.

What other shows have you been involved in?

Judas 1
Mary, Judas & Jesus (PHOTO COURTESY OF Nicole Walton Photography )

I have just completed a 2-week run as Bob in ‘Rita, Sue and Bob too’ which was very challenging but enjoyable.  With ETC I have had the pleasure of being Fagin in ‘Oliver’, Seymour in ‘Little Shop of Horrors’, Billy Bigelow in ‘Carousel’ and The Scarecrow in ‘The Wizard of Oz’.  Away from Encore I was lucky enough to be cast as The Big Bad Wolf in ‘Into the Woods’ for Croft Theatre Company who are based in Sheffield.

Everyone knows the story of Jesus Christ Superstar but what can you tell us about Encore’s version that makes it different?  It’s not set in 33AD so don’t expect loin cloths and sandals.  It explores Jesus as a revolutionary figure trying to lead his people.

Best or worst moment on stage?  Standing on the Lyceum Stage in Sheffield was amazing and getting standing ovations during the run of ‘Bat Boy’ with Diva Theatre Company was special.  Worst must be being half naked during ‘Rita, Sue and Bob too’ the pouch didn’t always do its job.

What is your favourite lyric from the show?  “If you strip away the myth from the man”

Judas wall
Judas (PHOTO COURTESY OF Nicole Walton Photography )

What musical moment was it that made you think…I want to do that?  When I was at primary school I was playing a shepherd in the school nativity and I can vividly remember the music teacher positively commenting on my singing and performing; being praised for something that I enjoyed felt fantastic.  From that moment on I noticed people seemed to like me when I performed; so, I’ve not stopped since.

What are you enjoying most about being part of Encore Theatre Company?  Rehearsals are always a laugh and this is a talented cast who are sounding amazing already.

What else do you do besides singing, dancing & acting?  I have a 4-year-old son who loves teaching me number bonds and I am a supply primary teacher through the week, so I can usually be found trying to make children laugh.

Thank you Dale for answering our questions in this weeks blog.


Thank you for reading!
Don’t forget to send me any old photographs you may have from previous Encore shows especially from Jesus Christ Superstar performed in 1984!
Get in touch on Facebook or email me at etconline@live.co.uk

Leave a comment